Wands

Standard

We all know of the series about the young kid who gets whisked away from his horrid aunt and uncle into a wonderful world of witch craft and wizardry. Recently, my nieces discovered the book. And they love them. Being the “Crafty Aunt” that I am, when the youngest one asked for a wand, I couldn’t say no.

 

I searched for ways to make the wands online. The best tutorial that I found was one where you make the wand from paper. Somehow, this just didn’t seem like enough. So, I began experimenting with polymer clay. Each of the three wands turned out completely different. There as LOTS of trial and error, and I have no step by step pictures. But, I will share the final ones, and how I got there.

 

I rolled the clay out as flat as I could make it, without it sticking to the table.

Then, I cut out a piece about 1 inch wide, and equal to the length of the dowel that I was using. (Each one is a different length, from 8 – 11 inches.)

I sprayed the dowel with spray adhesive to make it a little tacky.

Then, I started rolling the clay around the dowel.

And rolled.

And rolled. Trimming extra from the ends as it built up.

I did the same thing for 4 or 5 layers of clay.

Then, I embellished. The first one has only twists in the clay. The other two have long, thin rolls of clay to act as vines and texture in the “wood” of the wand. I hope you like them. If you have any questions, let me know! J.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

