Where Were You?

Standard

We all know what we are remembering today. I can not even think of a word to describe how sad that day was.

I was teaching preschool in Raleigh, NC. There were no TVs in our center, but we all had radios in our classrooms.  Of course, the radios were playing preschool friendly music, at the time. However, one of the parents from my class came in, and asked if I had heard that a plane had crashed  in New York. With a room full of twelve 3-year-old children, my mind did not really register anything more than a plane crash.

It was not until later when my boss came and said that a plane had just crashed into the World Trade Center. I said “Yeah, I heard that about a half hour ago when (child) got here.”

He said, “No, a second plane.” That was when I knew something was wrong.

On my lunch break, I went to my sister’s house and watched coverage for about a half hour. I am pretty sure that I cried the entire time. My Dad was scheduled to fly home that day. I called my Mom to make sure he was not in the air. His flight was actually before it happened.

Lots of parents picked their kids up early that day. That made me cry more.

I absolutely can not imagine the fear and sadness that other people felt on that day, or the ones following.

I hope that everyone will continue to remember, year round, what those days were like.  I will.

Leave a Reply

