Your Job is What???

Standard

For those that do not know, I work in a day care center. My actual position is the After School Kids Teacher. But, for a couple of weeks, I am also the morning 4/K Teacher. My mornings are mostly calm. There are 10 kids in my class, and since actual schooling has not begun, I just try to teach them things that roll with their interests. This week, they were interested in one of my sign language books, so we learned to sign A and B and a couple of words that begin with those letters. I also taught them each the first letter of their own names. By Monday, who knows how much of it they will remember? But, a permanent teacher has been hired for them, and she will start in another week or so. After that, I will not see them too much any more.  😦 Sad.

My After School Kids, however, are a different story all together.  I have about 30 kids on my roll, though my ratio is 23:1, so never more than that.  In the first place, the State of South Carolina seems to think that one teacher versus twenty-three 5-11 year olds is a fair fight!  In the second place, they are absolutely failed to take into account that some of these kids have never been taught manners, compliance, or been disciplined in any way, shape, or form. It makes for some rough days. Add on to that the fact that some of the older ones think they are just too old, or too perfect, to need daycare, and some days, I want to pull my hair out! But, in the end, I do love my job. I love the kids. And I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Though… it would be cool if we got paid  a little more!!!

So, in the name of your entertainment, I bring to you, my craziest moment of the week. Drum roll please.

On thursday, I had a 6-year-old girl and an 8-year-old boy “get married” and then start kissing. After no less than 10 times of pulling these two kids apart from each other, I finally had to send one to another class.

Yep. I should write a book.

Leave a Reply

